West Basin Presents “Legislator of the Year” Awards

March 5, 2024

Board of Directors Recognize State and Federal Recipients for Their Integral Support of California Water Policies

Ensuring reliable and high-quality water supplies requires active state and federal support, demonstrated by the dedicated efforts of legislators who champion water sustainability. The West Basin Municipal Water District (West Basin) Board of Directors selected its Legislator of the Year Award recipients to acknowledge those representatives who are proponents of furthering water reliability and conservation policies.

“Both our state and federal representatives have been instrumental in supporting West Basin’s mission to deliver reliable and high-quality water to its 17 cities and unincorporated areas in Los Angeles County,” said West Basin Board President Desi Alvarez. “Through this award, we acknowledge these distinguished legislators who work tirelessly to ensure that Californians enjoy long-term water sustainability and resiliency for years to come.”

At the state level, West Basin honors two legislators for their continued support of water industry programs:

  • Ben Allen, Senator, 24th District
  • Anna Caballero, Senator, 14th District

On the federal level representing California, West Basin recognizes the advocacy of the following members of Congress:

  • Alex Padilla, U.S. Senator
  • Adam Schiff, U.S. Representative, 30th District
  • Grace Napolitano, U.S. Representative, 31st District

The West Basin Board of Directors will present the 2023 awards to the recipients at upcoming legislative briefings being held in Sacramento, Calif., and Washington, D.C., where board members and staff will meet with state and federal elected officials to discuss the District’s legislative priorities and future funding needs that support West Basin’s vision for regional water supply reliability.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Print Friendly, PDF & Email